A New Kind Of Valentine’s Day

February 14, 2011

Valentine’s Day is thought of as JUST a romantic holiday.  It’s everywhere: on the TV, on the radio, in newspaper, magazines, blogs and grocery stores.  Candy hearts, chocolate and flowers are traditional gifts.  Engagements are dreamed of and anniversaries are celebrated.

I’m not immune to this serious PR machine.  I dream of my husband surprising me with glittery baubles or a warm wrap in mink.  Flowers, my personal favorite, are always perfect on a dreary February afternoon.

BUT, I’ve been thinking.

There are people (and puppies) in my teeny corner of my world, who are in need of a lot of extra love.  I have friends who are going through divorces, devastations in the form of a house fire or health issues and troubled financial trials.  And that’s not counting all those people in the whole wide world who are going through upheavals. What about them.  Don’t they need and deserve some lovin’ from all of us?

Of course they do.  In fact we all do.  Think about each and every person you come into contact with, whether on the phone, online, in line, in person, in the newspaper, on tv or radio.  When you stop and THINK about it, we meet and greet so many people who remain strangers, anonymous and mysterious and we miss so many opportunities to connect on a very real and meaningful level.  Spread the love, if you will.

I’d like to propose a radical change in this tradition.  I’d like us to expand the original intention of Valentine’s Day (fertility rite) and instead create a fertile ground for love to flourish and grow, kinda in a viral fashion, since it is the fashion to do so.

This Jersey, an animal I am intimate with (memoir) may be a bull or a cow, but it’s deserving of a little scratch and piece of carrot.  Let’s not be stingy, friends.

I love you as you are. Happy Valentine’s Day to you and yours.

Tell me what you think of this Holiday and all that it means to you.  Do you agree with me, or do you think I’m full of…..chocolate?

Leave a Reply

